Skip to content

What is up with Project Runway this season?

28/08/2014

project-runway-season-13-cast-tom-lorenzo-site-tlo

Project Runway airs every Thursday at 9PM EST and the fans this season are disappointed! Every time I look at the Runway Facebook page, the top comments are negative. The ratings have gone down, as well. So what are these concerns that Runway fans have about the current season?

1) “Bring back Michael Kors and get rid of Zac Posen!” There are so many comments like this, it’s ridiculous. However, I can’t say I disagree. First and foremost, Zac does not fit in with the show. He’s a brilliant, respected designer and he does have some valuable things to say… but ultimately, he does not make interesting television. Michael was fun and brought life to the show. Zac was just not the right replacement. Isaac Mizrahi would have been fabulous!…but he’s already a judge on All-Stars AND he had his own Runway knock-off show.

2) “The judges never choose a good winning outfit!” Right on, once again. I have a lot of respect for all of the designers because I know that it’s very difficult to do what is being asked while you’re being followed around by camera-people and producers. That being said, the looks this season have been fantastically disappointing. Time after time, Kini and Fäde produce good work and get very little recognition while Amanda and Sandhya get praised for some of the least appealing looks of the runway (once again, nothing against them personally).

3) “Heidi needs to dress her age.” This is where I disagree. If you or I looked like Heidi Klum at age 41 with four kids (or just in general), we’d probably show off too. Also remember that this is Lifetime Television not a PTA meeting. If you don’t like it, change the channel.

4) “The judges are so mean to the contestants!” I would be honored to be critiqued by the best people in the business. Just to be in the presence of Tim and/or Heidi would be a dream come true. This is one of the greatest opportunities these people will have in their lives. If anything, I feel bad for the judges that they have to look at such eyesores week after week. If the contestants don’t like the negative feedback, they should produce better work. Plus, I doubt they take it as personally as the viewers at home. The people at home don’t see all the cameras and the producers. They can forget that it’s just a TV show. The contestants probably can’t.

So do YOU agree with what’s being said about PR13? What complaints (or praises) do you have?  Let me know!

Wiedersehen,

Molly.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/08/2014 9:23 PM

    I like project Runway!!!
    Heidi is amazing!!!
    Kisses darling!!!
    http://expressyourselfbypaolalauretano.blogspot.it

    Like

  2. 28/08/2014 9:27 PM

    SO glad I found your site and thanks for the comment. I agree 100%, for me your #1 is the biggie…. Posen just is not good, he is boring and seems to take great joy is cutting the designers down. He needs to go. If Michael doesn’t want to come back, bring in Christian Siriano, he’s been through it all and he is a better designer than Posen.

    As for what Heidi wears…. if I looked like her, I would walk around naked!

    Like

    • 28/08/2014 9:32 PM

      That’d be great! Christian is a superstar! I’d love to see him as a judge on the main show. He will be a judge on the new spin-off though. Called “Threads” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • 29/08/2014 6:33 AM

      LOL! Priceless comment if you looked like Heidi!

      Like

  3. 28/08/2014 10:15 PM

    This is very true, I LOVED Michael Kors as a judge on Project Runway… Posen just isn’t the same.
    ~Sophia
    http://plaidismyfavouritecolour.blogspot.com/

    Like

  4. 28/08/2014 11:09 PM

    Oh. My. God.
    I agree with this post a million times over. PR this season has been AWFUL. I don’t GET it. I don’t get the winning designs, even though I like Sadhya. I think she’s surprisingly spunky.

    That being said, I still… watch it. It’s my guilty pleasure.

    Like

    • 28/08/2014 11:20 PM

      Haha same here! I really like Sandhya as a person but literally the only look of hers that I liked was the Heidi dress.

      Like

  5. 28/08/2014 11:24 PM

    I still watch PR and enjoy it but I think the biggest thing with it is, that is starting to feel staged or scripted or contrived. I think they chosoe looks they do not like to start a twitter war etc. Probably not the judges idea, but the producers. So there is more controversy etc. But if a show like this loses its authenticity it is not good.

    Allie of ALLIE NYC
    allienyc.com

    Like

    • 28/08/2014 11:31 PM

      I agree with you. When it gets to the point that everything is so clearly set up, it’s just not as interesting and it becomes annoying. Which is too bad! Runway is/was one of my favorite shows.

      Like

  6. 28/08/2014 11:25 PM

    Oh and I agree with #3 it is bloody 2014… women do not have to “dress their age” that is pathetic.

    Allie of ALLIE NYC
    allienyc.com

    Like

  7. 29/08/2014 6:40 AM

    Excellent post! I haven’t had the chance to watch PR, but now I know I don’t miss out on anything much ^-^

    Like

  8. 29/08/2014 6:55 AM

    you have beautiful blog!
    and i like the runway project

    visit my new post on http://www.labrunettefashion.com

    Like

  9. 29/08/2014 7:13 AM

    Unfortunately I still have not seen it. This morning I came across some articles in social networks, but frankly I’m not impressed by the jury ..
    xx
    cvetybaby.com

    Like

  10. 29/08/2014 11:20 AM

    This is my favorite tv program and Heidi is awesome
    Kisses and have a nice weekend
    Maggie D.
    The Indian Savage diary Fashion Blog

    Like

  11. 29/08/2014 12:20 PM

    Lovely blog, dear!
    xo.
    FROM HATS TO HEELS
    http://www.fromhatstoheels.com

    Like

  12. Gina permalink
    29/08/2014 12:23 PM

    I love project runway! But I cant’t watch it in Germany anymore:(
    Have a lovely day!

    http://theshimmeroflife.blogspot.de

    Like

  13. 29/08/2014 1:42 PM

    I haven’t seen it yet!

    http://www.3forfabulousfashion.blogspot.com

    Like

  14. 29/08/2014 3:04 PM

    bring back Sirano

    mon | http://www.monsemble.ca

    Like

  15. 29/08/2014 5:45 PM

    I love Project Runway and i definitely agree with you.
    I agree with you expecially with no. 3…i would so dress like her if i looked that great even in my 60’s lol.
    Great post love.

    Like

  16. 30/08/2014 9:07 AM

    I like so much Project Runway!!

    Like

  17. 30/08/2014 3:36 PM

    I heard a lot about PR, but didn´t see it. I think I should now. 🙂
    Thanks for your comment.
    Fashion Happenss

    Like

  18. 31/08/2014 1:44 PM

    great post 🙂

    Like

  19. Lena permalink
    01/09/2014 1:02 PM

    Lovely post ❤
    Lena
    http://skinnycature.com/2014/08/31/8387/

    Like

  20. 01/09/2014 6:02 PM

    What on earth is happening to all fashion oriented reality TV that made up of my childhood? First ANTM now Project Runway. My heart cannot take it.

    Like

    • 01/09/2014 7:59 PM

      You’re watching Top Model? Me too! I’m not too happy so far with the new season. Cannot believe Adam made the cut while Danny didn’t. And not liking Yu Tsai!

      Like

  21. 02/09/2014 6:18 PM

    I love project runway!!

    Like

  22. stylishlyinlove permalink
    02/09/2014 6:40 PM

    Great post. I really enjoyed reading it.

    XO,
    Sofia

    stylishlyinlove.blogspot.com

    Like

  23. 02/09/2014 6:43 PM

    Wish you a lovely day. Thanks for your comment. 🙂
    Fashion Happenss

    Like

  24. Dania permalink
    02/09/2014 7:02 PM

    I m totally agree with your point of wiew.
    Kisses

    NEW OUTFIT

    http://www.angelswearheels.com

    Like

  25. 02/09/2014 5:50 PM

    great post like it
    xx

    http://www.thedesire.es/

    Like

  26. 03/09/2014 3:12 AM

    Haha I totally agree, but I just love the show, both for watching the design process and drooling over Heidi’s wardrobe, so I’ll stick around anyway 🙂

    http://www.tailoredandtrue.wordpress.com

    Like

  27. 05/09/2014 1:52 PM

    I agree with everything you said. Heidi should feel free to wear as many miniskirts as she can while her legs still look the way they do! And I cannot believe Char was sent home over Sandhya last week. The entire outfit was Sandhya’s idea.

    http://breebiancahill.com

    Like

  28. 07/09/2014 5:12 PM

    I totally agree. This season could’ve been better and some of the outfits that win aren’t cute. I think the show will be cancelled in a few seasons

    Like

  29. 14/09/2014 4:35 AM

    wow, great posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

