Skip to content

Knowledge of Fashion: Why it’s Important

29/09/2014

111aaa

The first day of classes for the fall semester at FIT precollege program was Saturday. I’m taking two classes this semester but the one that really resonated for me was Anatomy of Fashion. In the class, we’ll be learning about the most influential fashion designers and creating projects that relate to them. The professor is very smart and experienced in the fashion industry. One of the most important things that I took away from the class was how valuable it is to be knowledgeable about fashion in the past, present, and future. Not many of my friends know much about designers, even the ones who are also into fashion, so it wasn’t until this class that I realized how necessary it actually is.

– First of all, if for no other reason, you should have basic knowledge of fashion so you don’t appear completely naïve and ignorant when applying to colleges/universities. The professor said he might ask, “Who is your favorite designer?” and people have actually responded, “Macy’s” or “Chanel because my sunglasses are by Chanel.” Yikes.

– If you’re a designer, or even a merchandiser or editor or PR person, it’s good to be constantly excited about different designers, trends, or events. Every once in a while I’ll come across a look in a magazine, online, or in a film and think, “I get that. I respond to that. That inspires me.” I think this is true for anyone. A foodie will be inspired by excellent food, a writer will be inspired by a brilliant novel, etc. But, the only way they can be inspired is if they taste that food or read that novel. People want and need to be stimulated especially people in a field like fashion.

It’s good to know what worked or didn’t work for other designers so you may be less likely to make the same mistakes. “Oh I was thinking of doing something like that but now I see that would have been awful!” Could be a business venture, a design concept, etc.

Having a better understanding of how fashion has grown and changed throughout history and who/what influenced those changes will help you mature as a fashion industry worker. In any field, it’s important to be well-informed. How would an aspiring Broadway performer do if he didn’t know who Oscar Hammerstein was? How would a hopeful Wall St. worker do if he didn’t know who Warren Buffett was?

You’ll be thought of more highly. If someone were to ask you who your favorite up-and-coming designers or favorite designers from the ’50s were and you didn’t know of any, that could be embarrassing. However, if you not only could name two or three but even comment on their aesthetics or latest runway shows, you’d definitely make an impression.

So I have a question for you! Don’t worry, it’s easy: Who is your favorite designer and say one interesting thing about them.

Wiedersehen,

Molly.


PC: Coco Chanel, Anna Wintour, Giorgio Armani.

80 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/09/2014 5:13 PM

    This is exactly the concept of my blog! To teach people that fashion is not a shallow and vain industry but an important part of our history and our future. It is art and it is full of amazingly creative, ambitious and intellectual people.

    None of my friends or family for that matter are very interested or knowledgeable when it comes to designers but it is very interesting indeed. I have a category on my blog called Fashion History where I am making posts about the fashion from the 16th century up to this day. So if you’re interested, feel free to check it out. =)

    Also, very well written!

    xx Alexis

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 29/09/2014 7:13 PM

    I love this post! I love Alexander Wang for his downtown cool looks. Always chic.

    http://www.khoasinclair.co

    Like

  3. 29/09/2014 7:50 PM

    All of these are extremely well put points! The one that particularly resonated with me is being able to know the name/inspiration behind what stimulates you. There are reasons why I am inspired season after season by specific designers and it’s so helpful to know what I like, what I don’t like, etc.

    I hope you have a great week!

    XxMO
    madame-ostrich.com

    Like

  4. 29/09/2014 9:02 PM

    Very True and insightful! One of my favorite designers is Oscar de la Renta, love his style, fabric look and unique design in his gowns, then there is Dolce&Gabbana.

    Like

  5. 29/09/2014 9:28 PM

    What an insightful post!

    I think this advice is applicable to all of life: It’s good to know what worked or didn’t work for other designers so you may be less likely to make the same mistakes. “Oh I was thinking of doing something like that but now I see that would have been awful!” Could be a business venture, a design concept, etc.

    xo, katie // a touch of teal

    Like

  6. 29/09/2014 10:26 PM

    love the mulleavy sisters of Rodarte. their use of prints and textures is quite one of a kind. on the other spectrum of things, i love alexander wang and his simple lines & aesthetic with an edgy twist 🙂

    Animated Confessions

    Like

  7. 30/09/2014 2:27 AM

    thanks for sharing this. I agree that everyone should have atleast a basic knowledge of fashion.

    Like

  8. 30/09/2014 2:45 AM

    I’m a costume designer for film and theater and it’s SO important to know the history of garments. I don’t study fashion designers in detail, but there are so many iconic pieces (i.e. Dior’s New Look) that people overlook and under appreciate. I love reading about how these pieces changed history. It’s true what Heidi Klum states “One day you’re in and the next day you’re out,” but there’s so much more to fashion than what we categorize now. Thanks for sharing!

    xoxo,
    Maggie S.
    ❤Clothestomidnight.com

    Liked by 1 person

  9. insoliloquy permalink
    30/09/2014 3:31 AM

    Thanks for sharing this awesome post 🙂 After seeing the shows from NYFW I’ve been totally in love with Luis Antonio’s looks ❤

    — Michelle | MXP STYLE

    Like

  10. 30/09/2014 4:13 AM

    Great post! I just love this article, u write amazing!
    xx
    cvetybaby.com
    Bloglovin
    Instagram

    Like

  11. mademoiselle mode permalink
    30/09/2014 4:56 AM

    Nice post !

    Kisses
    http://www.mademoisellemode.com/

    Like

  12. 30/09/2014 5:18 AM

    Wow! Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts about this subject. I’m still looking for clues. This piece helps me to open my eyes!
    Maybe it helps the visitors of my blog too, so I reblog this post ^-^

    Like

  13. 30/09/2014 5:28 AM

    Reblogged this on contessa francesca di parma and commented:
    Hi guys!
    No flashy photos this time, but a post, from Life15Juicy, that you might help you to figure out why fashion is so important to you.
    Enjoy!

    Like

  14. 30/09/2014 6:48 AM

    I think Coco was a great women on fashin industry!
    Have a nice day!
    Photographer Gil Zetbase
    http://www.gilzetbase.com/

    Like

  15. 30/09/2014 9:25 AM

    Great post!! Loved it!!

    xoxo
    Style and Paper

    Like

  16. 30/09/2014 10:32 AM

    I am one of the least fashionable person walking on earth but I am a huge fan of Oscar de la Renta. His dresses are a dream and beyond stunning! I dream of owning one of his creation but I think it will take a lifetime to save up for it.

    Reflection of Sanity

    Like

  17. 30/09/2014 10:34 AM

    very nice post lovely! well done!

    xx

    isa

    http://www.un-likely.com

    Like

  18. 30/09/2014 10:43 AM

    so ahrd to pick 1 designer that’s my favourite! not so much a designer, but the brand maison martin margiela – amazing aesthetic and innovative design.

    reckless abandon

    Like

  19. 30/09/2014 11:08 AM

    This post is really amazing! Thanks for sharing *_*
    kisses

    Francesca http://everydaycoffee23.blogspot.it

    Like

  20. 30/09/2014 11:32 AM

    This is such a great post! I would absolutely love to take a class like this and learn more about the history of designers. I hope you continue to share what you learn!

    Shannon
    Clothes & Quotes

    Like

  21. 30/09/2014 11:34 AM

    Great post and defo true. Agreed! 🙂

    missymayification.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  22. 30/09/2014 12:29 PM

    Yves Saint Laurent and Alexander McQueen because they both (each one using their particular aesthetics) gave power to women through the clothes they designed.

    Like

  23. 30/09/2014 12:43 PM

    I just found your blog and it is FANTASTIC! You have such a great voice and you are so knowledgeable about the industry. Like, I’m pretty sure you know more than me and I’m 10 years older than you (shame on me!). Congratulations with all your success! I will definitely be following.

    Like

  24. 30/09/2014 1:30 PM

    Love your thoughts here, Molly! I’m not in the fashion industry myself but I do love fashion history and looking back on how designers and icons influence the way we dress today! Great post:)

    Daisy | Simplicity Relished

    Like

  25. 30/09/2014 3:42 PM

    Valid points sister. If anyone every told me that ‘Macy’s’ was there favorite designer I would have to slap them!
    -Kat
    http://www.katwalksf.com/

    Like

  26. 30/09/2014 4:17 PM

    Your blog is beautiful dear! I’m following you on Bloglovin! I hope you could follow me, too! 🙂 xoxo

    http://lavieenrosemp.blogspot.com/

    Like

  27. 30/09/2014 4:25 PM

    Amazing and very interesting post! 😀

    http://whattostyle.blogspot.com/

    xoxo,
    Jess

    Like

  28. 30/09/2014 6:12 PM

    armani, dolce e gabbana e chanel! 🙂

    http://fashi0n-m0de.blogspot.it/

    Like

  29. 30/09/2014 9:58 PM

    Great post dear:)

    http://fairyland111.blogspot.com/

    Like

  30. 01/10/2014 2:54 AM

    What an incredible post. I definitely think that if you’re going to venture into fashion you need to be knowledgable in it. And not just the basics and fads of today, the past is pivotal. Those greats before us who designed, broke traditions and barriers for women made such an impact that has shaped the world today. Like Yves with the tailored suit. Reard and the bikini etc. My favorite designer (though cliche I suppose) is Coco Chanel. She changed everything. I remember a history class and our teacher happened to mention how back then fair skin was what women wanted, until Coco Chanel came back from a vacation tanned and suddenly everyone needed bronze skin. And we still do today (at least the majority of the western world). All I kept thinking was how amazingly influential she was, her bravery and individuality and the unconscious ability to set trends. From that moment on I was enthralled and rightly so, she changed so much in terms of fashion. Pants, faux fashion jewellery and perfumes. She did so much. She should be an icon to every little girl growing up in my opinion.

    Sxx
    http://www.daringcoco.com

    Like

  31. 01/10/2014 10:15 AM

    My favourite designer is Elie Saab. I love his detailed, feminine and magical designs which are timeless and ethereal. I love how it compliments women of any age and taste. I think he is a genius.

    Like

  32. 01/10/2014 11:58 AM

    If you’re interested in fashion, I think it goes beyond getting dressed, it should be about its history, depth, and major players who had a hand in making it what it is.

    xx Hélène
    http://www.FashionOverReason.com

    Like

  33. 01/10/2014 3:40 PM

    great post! thanks for sharing

    http://thedaydreamings.blogspot.de

    Like

  34. 01/10/2014 4:13 PM

    my favorite is Chanel/Karl Lagerfeld,always 🙂
    great post
    new outfit on my blog http://tr3ndygirl.com
    i wait you
    kiss

    Like

  35. 01/10/2014 4:48 PM

    I agree with you, it’s important to be well informed, especially if it’s something you’re studying. Liking chanel because that is where your sunglasses are from is a very sad answer, especially with all of the great Paris in the 1920s history associated with the brand. My personal favorite is Lanvin. I love how it has kept that same 1930s glamour over the years, though these days it’s with much more of a modern twist. I think Alber has done a fantastic job the last several years.

    prosecco in the park

    Liked by 1 person

  36. 01/10/2014 5:17 PM

    niceeee!!!

    http://www.ilblogdelmarchese.com

    Like

  37. 02/10/2014 6:20 AM

    I’m with Shannon, I would love to take a course about fashion! Brilliant piece!

    Like

  38. Borka Gamero permalink
    02/10/2014 6:20 PM

    couldn’t agree more with this post… knowledge is power!
    kisses from Miami,
    Borka
    http://www.chicfashionworld.com

    Like

  39. 03/10/2014 1:43 PM

    Couldn’t agree more, my favorite designer is Anna Sui and she has her on collector Barbie Doll, can I be her?

    JeMappelleChanel.com

    Like

  40. 03/10/2014 4:22 PM

    My favorite designer would have to be Karl Lagerfeld. He has such a creative mind and is so in tune with where pop culture is. I always look forward to seeing what he will come up with next.

    Styled By Noosh

    – Noosh
    xx

    Like

  41. 03/10/2014 4:47 PM

    Amazing post!!

    XO CHAMA FASHION
    http://www.chamafashion.com

    Like

  42. 03/10/2014 5:11 PM

    Really interesting post! Awesome *_*
    kisses

    Francesca http://everydaycoffee23.blogspot.it/

    Like

  43. 04/10/2014 4:35 AM

    That’s a tough question. I really adore Karl Lagerfeld. He’s a genius! Not just fashion wise. He’s smart and funny too 😀

    xx Mira

    http://www.glamdevils.com

    Like

  44. 05/10/2014 2:09 AM

    This is just so true, well said. I was recently talking to a workmate who graduated from what is supposed to be an elite college here in Australia, and she hadn’t even heard of Fortuny or Madame Gres. I believe that a well rounded knowledge of the past, and its influences is vital to understanding and appreciating fashion. But so many people think they can be designers just because they can draw. It’s so much more than that.
    Sidhe
    http://youlooklikemynanna.sidherian.com/wordpress/

    Like

  45. 05/10/2014 8:07 PM

    I love Coco Chanel, because what would we do without her pearls?

    pinkandnavystripes.com

    Like

  46. 07/10/2014 3:02 PM

    Great work Dear!!!Good writer!

    keep in touch

    Eli
    http://www.theladycracy.it

    Like

  47. 07/10/2014 11:52 PM

    I love this post, it is so important!

    xx Kelly
    Sparkles and Shoes

    Like

  48. 09/10/2014 5:15 PM

    Your class actually sounds not unlike my history of fashion class – from which I learned so much!

    But to answer your question – Ralph Lauren is my fave designer! I would classify his aesthetic as crisp, clean, classic-all-american (which is definitely my style)! And one interesting fact about him is when he was 16 he changed his name from Ralph Lifshitz to Ralph Lauren.

    Like

  49. 11/10/2014 12:44 AM

    Thanks for your recent comment on my blog. I’m enjoying yours. Your classes sound exciting–I took a couple of courses at FIT’s pre-college program a decade ago 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

