Skip to content

The First Flood of Criticism

19/10/2014

trds_101rc_05152104_bq-446

As the premiere of Project Runway: Threads (on which I am a featured designer) approaches, it seems that everyone is excited and has something to say. I was pleasantly surprised by how positive the initial response was. Then a couple of days ago, a little clip from the show was posted on Facebook and the not-so-positive words came flooding in.

“UGH another Dance Moms.” “I don’t even like dealing with kids in real life.”

Things like that. There were also some rude comments directed toward the young designers that are just not worth repeating. As Lori Matthews (Alaska’s mom from Toddlers & Tiaras) would say, “You can’t fix stupid.”

I sure did try though! The comments about the show itself didn’t bother me at all but I was (excuse me) pissed at the people who were saying rude things about the designers and then gave me a free speech lecture when I defended them. One of the obvious arguments made was that if they (we) hope to break into the industry, they (we) need to toughen up and take the criticism. I can see the logic there but in this case, it was really just an excuse to for adults to say nasty things about kids online. I’m sixteen years old, one of the oldest designers, so I know there will be quite a bit of criticism coming my way and I’m okay with it because I’ve anticipated it all along. I’m not sure the other designers have though. The youngest is ten (she’s a cutie!) and I sincerely hope she does not see or experience the negativity that’s coming from people, specifically on the Project Runway Facebook page. There’s no way that’s what she signed up for! I always say, “There’s brutal honesty and then there’s just plain brutal.”

Yes, I am of the opinion that at a certain point, you ought to learn to suck it up and deal with harsh words especially in tough business like fashion. However, for most people, age 10/16 is not that point. We’re young and we’re still growing as artists and as people- how are we supposed to reach our full potential if complete strangers are belittling us?

My hope is that once people actually see the show, they’ll realize that the designers are real people and so are the assistants. I’ve talked to almost all of the other designers and they are very nice. The levels of experience vary but there is a lot of talent, passion, and potential there. So if picking on kids make people feel good about themselves, I feel deep sorry for them. They can think whatever they want but I don’t want to see such negativity publicly displayed. Overall, there has been a lot of positivity and support of the show- I refuse to let unpleasant people ruin that.

Here’s my question for you: How do you handle criticism? Do you feel differently when it’s being directed towards a friend rather than yourself? 

Wiedersehen,

Molly.


PC: Judges of S01E01

Don’t forget, Project Runway: Threads premieres October 23rd at 10:30pm/9:30pmC on Lifetime! My episode airs December 11th.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane McCain permalink
    19/10/2014 9:52 PM

    You go girl! I read some of those comments and they really bothered me. I am glad you are starting out strong, please continue to help lead your fellow designers in a positive manner through the maze of social media. I am here to help support, should you need any additional support from that you are already receiving. Thank you.

    Like

  2. 19/10/2014 11:00 PM

    I’m a huge fan of project runway and am extremely excited for threads to premiere! Stay strong and don’t let the comments get to you- they are just jealous bc they aren’t capable of doing what you guys are on tv -Liv

    Like

  3. 20/10/2014 4:27 AM

    How can they do this to little kids? isn’t it considered online harassment or something?

    Apart from that, i think people need to see the bigger picture here. It’s a great opportunity to be a part of something so big and get exposure at such a young age. People need to encourage this kind of approach towards it

    Like

  4. 20/10/2014 4:44 AM

    I think you have written this so well, and I take my hat off to you. It’s a shame that people don’t consider the feelings of others when they write such awful things, but you’re the one who came out on top. I’m pretty even on the criticism, if it’s delivered badly I can take it to heart, but mainly it’s water off a duck’s back. Keep doing what you are doing! Samuel
    http://www.styleoversubstances.com

    Like

  5. 20/10/2014 2:37 PM

    Ignore the naysayers – and keep doing what you’re doing!! 🙂 http://hideorgochic.wordpress.com

    Like

  6. 20/10/2014 6:25 PM

    Those people should simply shut up, to be honest. The JUDGES should judge the contestants as that is their jobs, the other people should not be harassing children, that is illegal (I’ve researched law before and it is illegal for adults to harass minors in real life and online) besides if the adults spent less time hating on children and more time ACTUALLY SEWING they might be able to audition and successfuly make it onto a show. I hope nobody hates on Ciara (i assume that is who you mean by the 10 year old and youngest contestant) because i’ve seen her work and she is very talented. Also people should not hate on you either because ive also seen your work and sketches and they are amazing! So what if you are one of the oldest contestants? That doesnt mean that you are at an unfair advantage or anything as age shouldnt matter in a competition like Project Runway. That said, i wish you good luck and hope you win! Even if you don’t thats perfectly fine, and it seemed like you had so much fun in your episode (even though it didn’t air yet, you seemed focused in the commercial and i assume it was a great experience)

    Like

  7. 20/10/2014 10:31 PM

    I look forward to Project Runway Threads. I think it is a welcome platform to give young designers an opportunity to further develop their talent; although, in a very fast paced manner. I hope that all the participants find it worthwhile and that should they learn of criticism that they don’t let it deter them. Unfortunately, the downside of social media is that it gives a voice to those whom should really just be quiet. Social media bullying is currently out of control. On a brighter note, I will continue to look forward to watching Threads and I hope you continue to shoot for the stars. I wish you much success.

    Sharon
    http://www.afashioncrowd.blogspot.com

    Like

  8. 21/10/2014 12:17 AM

    There can be a positive found in criticism as long as it’s constructive. But you don’t deserve to feel belittled. You’re young, run with what inspires you and don’t focus on negative words. I will never understand why to some it’s easier to be cruel than to say something positive.

    Like

  9. 21/10/2014 5:23 AM

    Great! Congrats!
    Have a nice day!
    Angela Donava
    http://www.lookbooks.fr/

    Like

  10. dressed2dninesblog permalink
    21/10/2014 4:30 PM

    Use the haters as rungs up your ladder of success..if they are talking about you, that means you are doing something right! Congrats again 🙂

    http://www.dressed2dnines.com

    Like

  11. 21/10/2014 11:03 PM

    “at a certain point, you ought to learn to suck it up and deal with harsh words especially in tough business like fashion” – love this part. It’s just so true! The only way out that i see is that we can’t really please everybody, and we gave it our best shot. And fashion is always personal, so another person’s criticism must be constructive at the least.

    Like

  12. 23/10/2014 5:09 PM

    Love Runway is so cool
    🙂
    How I take criticism, Well
    If there positive criticism I like very much, because I can learn from them,
    But if there in the wrong way, I totally
    Ignore them:)
    Great post darling
    xoxo
    http://stunningchic.com/

    Like

  13. 26/10/2014 11:07 AM

    unfortunately criticism is so tough to handle. wish it never existed..

    claudiamedas.blogspot.com

    Like

  14. 28/10/2014 5:43 PM

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving the link to yours. You’re right that there are just so many unnecessary inappropriate comments out there. But mostly that negativity is from people who are jealous. You are doing your thing along with the other young up and coming designers and I applaud you. I look forward to seeing your episode in December and am already a fan of the show. I hope you stay tuned to my blog to as it can be insightful for new designers to know how to protect their designs and know when it is inappropriate to be “too inspired” by someone else’s work.

    Like

  15. 30/10/2014 12:40 AM

    Hi Molly,great and powerful article.People throw stone at a fruitful trees and not at fruitless trees.People criticize the successful not the failure.Please read my post ” Hurl Stones.” Best wishes.Jalal Michael

    Like

  16. Hazel Eyed permalink
    07/11/2014 6:39 PM

    Ah! I saw you on this last night. So amazing!

    Like

  17. 26/11/2014 5:01 AM

    i love your blog! so simple, yet full of passion for fashion! keep blogging 🙂

    Nina xx
    http://www.missninasantos.blogspot.com

    Like

  18. 14/12/2014 11:55 PM

    That is so amazing that you’re doing this, and that is so awful that people have nasty things to say!! I don’t understand how people can be that way, but just keep doing you because clearly you’ve got it together! :D:D

    xxx
    Camilla
    http://avenuecamilla.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

